Information for our members regarding our COVID-19 response and STAY SAFE, STAY HOME DIVIDEND

What are the Consequences of Driving Without Car Insurance

What are the Consequences of Driving Without Car Insurance?

Driving without car insurance is against the law and can be accompanied by long-term consequences, so it’s best to not do this.

Driving a car is a privilege and a huge responsibility that cannot be taken lightly. To legally operate a vehicle, one must comply with a strict set of rules, such as traffic laws, having a valid driver’s license, and proof of insurance. If you are caught driving and not complying with these rules, you can find yourself in trouble with the law.

Today we are looking at the consequences of driving without automobile insurance and what you can do to find an affordable policy.

Continue scrolling to learn more below.

Here Are the Consequences of Driving a Car Without Insurance

To legally operate a vehicle, you must have an active automobile insurance policy. If you are found driving without proof of your policy, you will likely face severe consequences. Potential penalties may include a pricey ticket, suspension of your driver’s license, a lack of financial protection and sense of security in the event of a car accident, and possibly the denial of insurance coverage if involved in a crash that was not your fault.

Driving Without Car Insurance Is Illegal in Utah

Like most states, it is against the law to drive a car without automobile insurance in Utah. You are also in violation of Utah law if you are driving a vehicle without proof of insurance. Driving without insurance in Utah is considered a Class B misdemeanor that is accompanied by a fine of at least $400 for your first offense and $1,000 for violations after that within three years. You are also risking your driver’s licenses and registration being suspended if you drive without insurance, which may only be reinstated after showing proof of insurance and paying reinstatement fees.

Driving Without Car Insurance and Car Accidents

Utah is a no-fault state, which means that it doesn’t matter who is at-fault for the accident; each driver needs to file insurance claims for their bodily injury and property damage with their own insurance providers. So, if you are uninsured and get into a car accident, you will not have an insurance company to rely on for help. You are responsible to pay for repairs, replacements, medical bills, and more out of your own pocket.

Do You Need Insurance for Unused Vehicles?

If you have a car that is no longer driven, it might be tempting to cancel insurance coverage for that vehicle. There are a couple of reasons why you should not do this. First, if you ever need to reinstate your coverage, you could face a higher rate for a lapse in coverage for that car. Second, depending on where you have your car parked, it could still pose a liability risk. You may want to consider car storage coverage instead of canceling if you are eligible for this type of coverage.

Say No to Driving Without Car Insurance and Contact Bear River Mutual Insurance Today

There is no sense in driving without car insurance — the consequences are too great. Instead, contact the experts at Bear River Mutual Insurance to find an affordable policy that meets your specific needs and gives you the peace of mind you deserve. Our knowledgeable professionals are dedicated to finding the perfect balance of value and security for you and your family within your budget. If you live in Orem, Provo, Salt Lake City, or a surrounding area, contact us and get a free quote today.

Like this article?

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Linkdin
Share on pinterest
Share on Pinterest